mugen chars, rare characters
Mugen | CHAT | Newbie needs palette help in FFU! - Forum | Registration | Login
[New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
Forum » MUGEN related » Mugen beginners' corner » Newbie needs palette help in FFU! (At least, I think it's the palette that I need help with...)
Newbie needs palette help in FFU!
FallonDate: Thursday, 2010-06-03, 9:05 AM | Message # 1
Baby
Group: Users
Awards: 0
Reproofs: 0%
Hi folks - lovely forum you've got here.

I'm pretty new to MUGEN, but I'm no newbie to game and character design. Actually I'm a visual effects artist by trade, and to be honest I'm trying - and failing - to incorporate some of those skills into my workflow here.

Basically, I'm trying to EXPORT the sprites from a MUGEN char file (Talon from Primal Rage) as a series of PNG files. No problem there, I've done it a hundred times and it's fine.

But.

This particular char file has a white background for the sprites, and since Mugen doesn't appear to support alpha channels (correct me if I'm wrong), I'd like to replace this background with a more easily-removable colour for when I import it into my motion-graphics package (I'm using After Effects, just for the record). See, as everybody probably knows, it's really hard to key out pure white, because (a) you occasionally key out important parts of the sprite, and (b) you get really awkward 'fringes' on some frames. Now I COULD do a frame-by-frame repair, and it would be easy, but it would also be time-consuming. I'd much prefer to spend my time on the actual creative design aspects, if you can dig that, haha.